Star Wars Legacy Omnibus Volume Three

Star Wars Legacy Omnibus Volume Three
Star Wars Legacy Book 3 review
  • North American Publisher / ISBN: Dark Horse Books - 1-6165-5260-3
  • Volume No.: 3
  • Release date: 2014
  • UPC: 9781616552602
  • Contains adult content?: no
  • Does this pass the Bechdel test?: yes
  • Positive minority portrayal?: yes

This final omnibus of Legacy concludes the storyline that John Ostrander and Jan Duursema set in motion over fifty chapters earlier. As was the case for its predecessors, it’s excellent at emulating the excitement, wonder, action and political intrigue of the Star Wars films, and it’s difficult to imagine any fan of those films not enjoying this material.

As the volume opens Darth Wyyrlok is playing an increasing part in controlling the Empire, expertly manoeuvering the ambitions of the Moff Council. Nyna Calixte appears to be the only one among them with any misgivings. A continuing theme of the series has been the over-arching political instability, but an alliance of forces opposed to Sith control is gradually established as the atrocities they commit don’t quell opposition as intended.

The majority of the art is by Duursema, who’s fluid, expressive and dynamic, and the excitement and tension drop for the chapters when she’s absent, with Dave Ross the exception to this.

The Legacy series has incorporated a significant cast, most of whom have a role to play in the final stages. The core of the series, though, has been the journey of Cade Skywalker. He’s been compensating for his lost parents throughout, and plots here force him to confront some issues as his mother’s secrets finally seep into wider circulation. Cade is a morally ambivalent character, and while his attitudes have modified as Legacy progressed, it remains a core trait. There are several insights into how far he’ll prioritise his methods despite the possible cost.

A bulky small format hardback edition of this nature sounds desirable, and unlike the previous volumes it remains reasonably priced. It contains the collections Tatooine, Monster, Extremes and War, but while packing more pages than the previous volumes this is at the cost of fewer reproductions of the covers from the original comics.